Ravichandra Ashwin

Ashwin named ICC World player of the year

R Ashwin 7-83
R Ashwin  27 wickets  in 19 T20
Ravichandra Ashwin
Ravichandra Ashwin
Carol Brathwaite
Carlos Brathwaite

Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin (30) has been named the international Cricket Council’s world player of the year and is the third Indian to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and is also ICC Test cricketer of the year.

Alistair Cook was named Captain of the ICC Test team of 2016. The voting period closed in September 2016 before England’s 0-4 Test Series defeat in India.

Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow and Ben Stokes also feature in the awards but India’s Virat Kohi and Australia’s Steve Smith missed out.

Ashwin took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs in eight tests, as well as 27 wickets in 19 T20 Internationals.

The ICC’s other 2016 award winners are:

  • South Africa’s wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock – ODI Cricketer of the Year
  • Carlos Brathwaite of the West Indies – T20I Performance of the Year award for his match-winning 34 off 10 balls in the ICC World Twenty20 final against England in Kolkata
  • Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman – ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year
  • Afghanistan’s wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad – ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year