Yadav and Kohli steers Indian series win


25 SEP International   TWENTY20 MATCH

India Vs Australia at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Australia 186-7 off 20 ov  Green 52 off 21, 7 fours, 3 sixes, David 54 off 27, 2 fours, 4 sixes, Sams 28 off 20, 1 four, 2 sixes, A Patel 3-33, Chahal 1022, H Patel 1-18, B Kumar 1-39.

India 187-4 off 19.5 ov, Rohit 17 off 14, 2 fours, 1 six, Kohli 63  off 48, 3 fours, 4 sixes, S Yadav 69 off 36, 5 fours, 5 sixes, H Pandya 25 off 16, 2 fours, 1 six, Sams 2-33, Hazlewood 1-49, Cummins 1-40.

India wins by 6 wickets. 

The thrilling match went down to the last three overs. Australians were 140 for six at end of 17 overs but got 46 in the final three. The Indian, who had set the chase up nicely needing just 32 for a series win and overcame spirited fightback from the Aussies at the third and final T20I match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday.

Virat Kohli struck a 48-ball 63 with 3 fours and  4 sixes and fell with just five needed off five balls. Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten on 25 as the Indian notched up 187 four with a ball to spare. The win was set up by Mumbai’s Suryakumar Yadav who stole the match from the Australian who was sitting pretty at 188,  by a match-winning 104-run partnership with Virat Kohli. Indian start was wobbly as KL Rahul (1) and skipper Rohit Sharma 17 fell with just 30 on board. After  10 overs, the Indians were 91 for two-five runs more than the Australian at that point of their innings.

Earlier Australians was off to a flying start with Cameron Green hitting 21-ball 52 with seven fours and three sixes as the visitors were  66 in the powerplay. After his departure, the Australians lost their way as the Indians clawed back from a strong 62 for 2 and collapsed to 84 for four in the 10th over, adding just 24 in the last six overs. Glenn Maxwell (6) didn’t last long as he was run out by Axar Patel when trying to steal a second. Steve Smith (8) too failed last long as he was stumped by Dinesh Karthik off Yuzvendra Chahal.