Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton wins the Abu Dhabi GP

Lewis Hamilton wins Abu Dhabi GP for 11th victory this season


Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton wins the Abu Dhabi GP
Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton wins the Abu Dhabi GP

Lewis Hamilton led away from pole position and cruised off to win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix to end the season in which he won a sixth world drivers’ title.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen took the second after Charles Leclerc’s Ferrari slipped backwards who had to content with third position.

Leclerc held off an attack from Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas in the closing stages, the Finn outsmarted on his gearbox on the final lap after an excellent race from the back of the Grid.

Leclerc was at risk of losing third place because the FIA discovered before the race that the amount of fuel Ferrari said was in his car was different from the amount that was when it was checked. After a post-investigation Ferrari were fined €50,000 for what had been a 4.88kg discrepancy so the result stood.

The 34-year-old Hamilton’s victory was his 11th of the 21 races that have been held this season, and equals his previous best performance in 2014 and 2018.

No Driver Number Team Race Time Points
1 Lewis Hamilton 44 Mercedes 01:34:06 26
2 Max Verstappeb 33 Red Bull 16.772 18
3 Charles Leclerc 16 Ferrari 43.435 15
4 Valtteri Bottas 77 Mercedes 44.379 12
5 Sabestian Vettel 5 Ferrari 1:04:357 10
6 Alexander Albon 23 Red Bull 1:09.205 8
7 Sergio Perez 11 Racing Point +1lap 6
8 Lando Norris 4 McLaren +1lap 4
9 Danil Kvyat 26 Toro Rosso +1lap 2
10 Carlos Sainz Jnr 55 McLaren +1lap 1